Katie Ledecky Wins Third Female Olympic Athlete of the Year Award

adminNewsLeave a Comment

Ten days after winning Female Athlete of the Year at the Golden Goggles for a fifth consecutive year, Katie Ledecky can add another award to her legendary status as she was named Female Olympic Athlete of the Year at the Team USA Awards for a record third time!

The awards show was held in Los Angeles and honored the outstanding achievements of the athlete from Team USA over the past year.

Katie earned this honor back in 2012 after her Olympic debut in London and winning gold in the 800m freestyle. She also won for the 2016 Rio Olympic games in which she won four golds, one silver and broke 2 world records.

The other nominees were wrestler Helen Maroulis, speed skater Heather Bergsma, snowboarder Lindsey Jacobellis and alpine skier Mikaela Shiffrin.

Katie now holds the record for the most times winning this award at three. Other two-time winners were Lindsay Vonn, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Tracy Caulkins, Bonnie Blair, Picabo Street, and Katie Hoff.

“I am very honored and grateful to receive this recognition from the U.S. Olympic Committee and also wish to thank USA Swimming and all of the fans who supported Team USA throughout the year,” Ledecky said. “Thanks also to my coaches and teammates — all of whom make it such a privilege to compete for Team USA and Stanford.”

Katie won five gold medals and one silver at the 2017 World Championships in Budapest this past summer and became the woman record holder for most gold medals at Worlds with 14.

The award winners were determined by online fan voting at TeamUSA.org/Awards, where more than 260,800 fan votes determined 50 percent of the final tally. Members of the Olympic and Paralympic family – including an esteemed panel of Olympic and Paralympic journalists – accounted for the other 50 percent.

The full winners list from the Team USA Awards:

  • Female Olympic Athlete of the Year – Katie Ledecky, swimming
  • Male Olympic Athlete of the Year – Kyle Snyder, wrestling
  • Olympic Team of the Year – U.S. Women’s National Team, ice hockey
  • Olympic Coach of the Year – Bill Zadick, wrestling
  • Female Paralympic Athlete of the Year – Tatyana McFadden, Para track and field
  • Male Paralympic Athlete of the Year – Mikey Brannigan, Para track and field
  • Paralympic Team of the Year – U.S. National Team, sled hockey
  • Paralympic Coach of the Year – Eileen Carey, Para Nordic skiing

The awards show will be televised from 5-6 p.m. ET Dec. 23 on NBC.

 Be sure to follow us on Twitter for all the latest updates!